ACTION ALERT: NO DRINKING WATER FOR SNOWMAKING!

ACTION  ALERT: NO DRINKING WATER FOR SNOWMAKING!

On August 30th Flagstaff City Council will decide whether or not to sell Flagstaff’s precious drinking water to a single private business for recreation.

As City water prices go up and Flagstaff is threatened to run out of water by 2050, Arizona Snowbowl Ski Business has been offered $11 million tax payer dollars by the USDA to subsidize their plan to make fake snow. This amounts to a corporate bailout for a business located outside of city limits. Visit www.truesnow.org for more info.

We have a chance to stand for our future and respect.

IMPORTANT PUBLIC MEETING:

When: August 30th at 5:30PM

Where: Sinagua High School
Located at 3950 East Butler Avenue Flagstaff, AZ.

TAKE ACTION NOW!
Urge Flagstaff City Council to VOTE NO DRINKING WATER FOR SNOWMAKING!

Contact members of the City Council:

To email all: council@flagstaffaz.gov

Mayor Sara Presler                      spresler@flagstaffaz.gov
Vice Mayor Celia Barotz              cbarotz@flagstaffaz.gov
Councilmember Art Babbott        ababbott@flagstaffaz.gov
Councilmember Karla Brewster    kbrewster@flagstaffaz.gov
Councilmember Coral Evans        cevans@flagstaffaz.gov
Councilmember Scott Overton     soverton@flagstaffaz.gov
Councilmember Al White             awhite@flagstaffaz.gov

To make an appointment with the Mayor or a Councilmember call (928) 779-7600.

Send Letters to the Editor of the Arizona Daily Sun:
Randy Wilson                               rwilson@azdailysun.com

FACTS:

The City of Flagstaff is projected to run out of water by 2050.
“Depending on population growth, drought, climate change, economics and a few other variables, Flagstaff might be using more water by 2027 than it gains out of lakes and wells.” Arizona Daily Sun: Special Report: Roiling the waters. 3/14/10

Snowbowl would be pumping 1.5 million gallons per day, up to 180 million gallons per season.

Snowbowl doesn’t drive the winter economy of Flagstaff.
“It is unrealistic to think that the Snowbowl would be a significant driver of tourism activity or the economy” – Coconino Forest Service Draft Environmental Impact Statement Page 3-121

Native American Tribes are opposed to snowmaking with 
groundwater. Any type of snowmaking on the San Francisco Peaks will tremendously offend this part of our community.

Global Warming will make skiing in Arizona less viable in the near future.
Global temperatures are expected to rise by up to three degrees Celsius in the next 50 years, melting glaciers, raising the snow line up mountains and crippling the ski industry according to a U.N. Environment Programme (UNEP) study.

Snowbowl will not close if they are not able to make snow.
“Even without the proposed expansion of the Snowbowl, members of the public will continue to enjoy many recreational activities on the Peaks. Such activities include the downhill skiing that is now available at the Snowbowl.” 9th Circuit Court Decision 408 F. Supp. 2d at 884.

Visit www.truesnow.org for more info.

Tags: , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply